Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 15th, 2017

My doctor has given me 30 days in which to turn my diabetes around or go on medication. Since sweets and sugar have been cut from my diet since my cancer diagnosis I am not sure how I find myself in a diabetic condition. However, it may be carbohydrate related. I bake my own breads and I do enjoy eating pasta. I eat almost anything Italian because that is my heritage and the way I grew up. I am finding that food is a very cultural thing.

Since I am not going to give up my Italian eating, I figured the next best thing was to try and add a good bit of exercise to my day’s schedule. While I do Tai Chi, it is not aerobic. Yoga is impossible to do with Yarn Rascal. Yesterday I tried to do a Yoga workout and when it came to the plank position Yarn Rascal thought it a great treat to jump on my back. The extra 17 pounds caused me to collapse onto the floor. A full face plant, so to speak, and a biting of my tongue. What my tongue was doing between my teeth in the first place I have no idea. Anyway, Yarn Rascal thought it was great and laid down on my back wagging his tail. I am still lisping as I speak today, though the tongue feels better.

My next line of thought was to find the exercise bike at my mother’s house. Mom and Dad have lived in the same house for over 60 years, which means 60 years of accumulated things in the cellar. But if I remember correctly I stored the bike there only about 20 years ago.  So over to Mom and Dad’s and down into the cellar.

It took archeologists 3,000 years to uncover King Tut’s tomb. I looked at their cellar and thought 3,000 years was a blink of an eye compared to what I was facing. So I’ve started excavating. I’ve discovered many amazing things that I had forgotten that took me back to childhood days. My Barbie and Ken dolls along with Skipper and Madge. All the little doll dresses my grandmother sewed by hand for them. I also realized that excavating is a workout in and of itself.  Along the way I discovered that the back has a lot of muscles that will spasm long after the excavating stops. Who knew that when you breath your back muscles are part of the process?

I think I may be closing in on the exercise bike. I did find the baby grand piano that was down there. So there is hope. Of course the bike is smaller than the piano but hope springs eternal.

Read Full Post »

Knitting Nuances

A 2015 & 2016 Top 100 Knitting Blog!

Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Fringe Association

Knitting ideas, inspiration and free patterns, plus crochet, weaving, and more

The Contented Crafter

A blog containing random thoughts, bits of life, creations from my art room and tales of a cat named Orlando and a puppy named Siddy

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

tomofholland

The Visible Mending Programme: making and re-making

Northern Lace

Fibre life in Orkney

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

ella gordon

textile maker

whatimuptotoday

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Wendy Knits

Knitting Yarn and Life

Attic24

Knitting Yarn and Life

Yarn Harlot

Knitting Yarn and Life

